Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council has today elected Councillor Andrew Gowan (DUP) as the new Mayor with Councillor Gary McCleave (Sinn Fein) taking up the post of Deputy Mayor.

Speaking at the Annual Meeting of Council, Mayor Gowan said: “It is truly an honour to be nominated as Mayor and I will give this role my all throughout the next year. 

“I thank my constituents in Downshire East for re-electing me. My approach to public office as a Councillor is to work hard and deliver outcomes that make a meaningful difference to people and communities. That will be my approach as Mayor for the Lisburn & Castlereagh City area. 

“I will be a positive ambassador for our city and a champion for our community. I feel privileged to be able to represent the people of Lisburn and Castlereagh as first citizen. 

“I would like to pay tribute to my predecessor, Scott Carson who put his all into this role over the last year, ably supported by Michelle Guy as Deputy. Scott represented us with distinction throughout the year, especially at times of such national significance including the passing of Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the Coronation of our King, Charles III.

“I look forward to working in partnership with local people, to deliver positive outcomes for everyone. As a father of four young children, I want to engage young peoplein many aspects of civic life and lead by example to inspire future generations.

Mayor Gowan has chosen Cancer Fund for Children as his Mayoral Charity.

He added, “My wife Nicola is a Cancer Nurse and we are both amazed by the outstanding work of Cancer Fund for Children within Northern Ireland.  They support families through their toughest moments as they help children and young people living with cancer themselves or dealing with a parent who has cancer. I am delighted to support the Cancer Fund for Children in the year ahead and I will do all I can to raise much needed funds and awareness for the work they do.”  

Deputy Mayor, Councillor Gary McCleave added: “I am delighted to take up the role of Deputy Mayor for Lisburn & Castlereagh City Council. I look forward to playing my part as we work together to engage and support local people and communities right across the council area.”

The positions of Chair and Vice-Chair for council committees were also nominated:

Corporate Services

Chair: Alderman Owen Gawith (ALL)

Vice Chair: Councillor Andrew Ewing (DUP)


Communities and Wellbeing Committee

Chair: Councillor Thomas Beckett (DUP)

Vice Chair: Councillor John Gallen (SDLP)


Regeneration and Growth Committee

Chair: Councillor John Laverty BEM (DUP)

Vice Chair: Councillor Tim Mitchell (UUP)


Environment and Sustainability Committee

Chair: Councillor Caleb McCready (DUP)

Vice Chair: Councillor Ryan Carlin (Sinn Fein)



Chair: Alderman Martin Gregg (ALL)

Vice Chair: Councillor Uel Mackin (DUP)


Governance and Audit

Chair: Councillor Ross McLernon (UUP)

Vice Chair: Mr Edgar Jardine (non-elected independent member)